Birthday Cake For Nova

I was already having enough trouble coping with it being mid-January when I realized that also meant Nova’s first birthday was coming up. I couldn’t believe she was going to be a year old already….It felt like a few months ago she was still a tiny puppy, curious about the world and all chubby. Then, while I’m having a precious flashback moment, she does something naughty like steal socks from the laundry and her late teen attitude quickly reminds me otherwise while I chase her down for the sock.

Birthdays mean three things: a party with loved ones, gifts and food. Dog or not, Nova was going to have all three. It seemed only fair since my other two dogs always have parties of their own. The party would be small, probably just Mike and I, letting Nova do all her favorite things (chasing balls in the basement or cuddling on the couch) but if the weather wasn’t too bad, maybe a trip to the dog park on the weekend to celebrate with her dog park friends. Gifts were easy, too: some new treats, a toy and a chewable of some sort, either an antler or a Himalyan dog chew (if your dog is a power chewer, these are your best bets: they last for months) and a Flexi leash. But what to do about food?

Nova loves all types of foods and I love any excuse to bake so I thought it would be fun to make her a dog birthday cake. I did some searching and found one I knew she’d love: carrot peanut butter cake. I decided to bake a batch now so if they failed or weren’t any good, I still had time to try again.

I didn’t have a six cup cupcake tin so I improvised and used a standard 12 cup tin; I ended up with nine. One of the corners of a cupcake broke off and I decided to eat it. They were in desperate need of sugar to make them tasty for people, but the cake itself was nice and moist and the mix of carrot and peanut butter tasted much better than it sounded. I frosted one cupcake with a mix of cream cheese and chunky peanut butter and topped it with a chunk of apple before serving it to a very impatient Nova.

Cooling muffins

Nova sat in front of the counter the whole time they cooled, hoping I might give her one early

Cupcakes up close

Can I eat it now?!

“Foods? For me? Can I eat it now?”

To my surprise, Nova didn’t inhale it like I figured she would. Instead she licked off most of the frosting (more proof she is my puppy), then stared at it, puzzled at what to do next. I ended up cutting it into wedges for her.

Nomnomnom

Much easier to eat in wedges: nomnomnom!

Licked clean

Licking up every last crumb

In a matter of minutes, she had devoured the cupcake and licked the plate clean, which she then shoved my way and gave me a look that said, “why is my plate empty?” I told her they were all gone, but she is smart and her nose told her otherwise. I wrapped the leftovers in foil and stashed them in the freezer, clearly marking the bag “cupcakes for Nova” so Mike didn’t think I had made him muffins and have an…interesting surprise when he ate one at work. If she’s just as crazy about them on her birthday, I might make another batch in a mini muffin tin and keep them on hand when she deserves an extra yummy reward or more incentive to do something (ie: bath time).

“Mom, you liiiied, there are more cupcakes!”

Carrot Peanut Butter Doggie Cupcake (adapted from ROMP Italian Greyhound Rescue)

Ingredients:
1 large egg
1/4 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/3 cup honey
1 cup shredded carrots
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a 12 cup cupcake tin with cupcake papers, or lightly grease each cup. Combine the egg, peanut butter, oil, and honey in a large bowl. Add in the carrots and stir to combine.

Combine the flour and baking soda in a small bowl and add to the carrot mixture. Stir until fully incorporated. Divide among prepared cupcake tins. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few crumbs on it. Remove from oven and let cool on wire rack. If desired, frost tops with a little peanut butter, a mix of softened cream cheese and peanut butter, melted carob, low fat cottage cheese, wet dog food, etc.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Happy Birthday Nova! « conversebear

Leave a Reply

