Homemade Snickers

After nearly four months, our basement remodel is complete! During that time, I saw Mike’s dad almost every day. He’s worked so hard (they both have really) and it looks great. I felt saying “thank you” verbally just wasn’t enough. Then it hit me: I should make him a batch of homemade Snickers, one of his favorite candies.

I found the recipe months ago on The Kitchn and actually managed to make sure I had all the ingredients on hand in case I decided to make them on a whim. I was even more excited to make them because I finally got to use the hefty five pound loaf of caramel and the double boiler my mom sent me. Truthfully I’m sorry I didn’t buy a double boiler sooner. I figured I’d never use it enough to make it worth it. Wrong. If I’d had it, I would have made more candy. It makes it much less scary, that’s for sure! I’m also glad I have a digital scale. It’s another item I thought I’d rarely use, but as I cook/bake a wider variety of items, I’m finding more and more recipes that use grams or suggest weighing ingredients for better results (like the ciabatta bread I posted about earlier).

Overall the recipe was easy to follow, it was just slow. Worst part was waiting for the finished product to chill in the freezer. Heck, once I had the caramel-peanut layer on, I really wanted to cut a few pieces off and call it good. When they were finally chilled enough, the next task was to trim the edges (make sure you have a very good, sharp knife). I was so delighted to see this after I made my first cut:

Success!

I kept all the trimmings in a bowl and stuck it back in the fridge. Big mistake! They are highly addictive. Every time I open the fridge, I casually help myself to a piece. I didn’t have a 9×6 inch pan so I used a 9×9. I should have used a smaller pan, like maybe my smaller Le Creuset dish, or doubled the recipe amounts because as you can see, they were pretty thin. However, they are so rich, it’s probably better this way. You can even make another batch of the chocolate-peanut butter-butterscotch and dip the edges so they look more like the real deal. I did try a few that way, but it made them even more rich so I left them un-dipped. I also used parchment instead of the wax paper/cling film because it fit the pan better. I got about 40 pieces out of my batch, so it’d be a great recipe to make for a holiday gathering or party (just make sure they are kept cool at all times).

For those who might want a more authentic flavor, you might want to experiment with the amount of peanut butter and butterscotch chips. Another helpful hint: it doesn’t take long for the bars to warm up and become too soft, so make sure to cut them quickly and get them back in the freezer as soon as possible.

Homemade Snickers (half recipe amounts)

7 oz milk chocolate chips
1.5 oz butterscotch chips
100 g creamy peanut butter
2 3/4 T butter
1/2 C sugar
1/4 C evaporated milk
80 g marshmallow fluff
1/2 t vanilla
3/4 C salted peanuts, chopped (or, you may substitute nuts of your choice)
1/2 pound chewy caramels

1. Line a 9×6(ish) baking dish with waxed paper or plastic wrap, making sure there is plenty of extra draped over the sides and ends of the pan.

2. Make the bottom chocolate layer: prepare a bain-marie; combine 3.5 oz chocolate, 0.75 oz butterscotch and 33 g peanut butter. Heat, stirring constantly, until melted and well combined. Pour into your baking dish, and spread in a even layer. Stick the dish in the freezer to set.

3. Make the nougat layer: combine 2 T butter, 1/2 C sugar, 1/8 C evaporated milk in a small, heavy-bottomed pot. Heat on low, stirring until the sugar has melted, and the mixture starts to bubble. Remove from heat, add the vanilla, 33 g of peanut butter and marshmallow fluff. Stir until well melted and smoothly combined, then let cool slightly. Pour into your baking dish on top of the chocolate, spread in an even layer and return to the freezer. Wash the pot you just used, too; you’ll need it for the next step!

4. Make the caramel peanut layer: Combine 1/8 C evaporated milk, 3/4 T butter and the caramels in a small heavy-bottomed pot. Heat on low, stirring frequently, until caramels have melted into the milk and butter. Keep a close eye on the mixture or your caramel can burn quickly! If it appears the caramels are starting to burn, switch back to a bain-marie. Once melted and smooth, add the peanuts. Allow to cool slightly, then pour over the nougat layer, spreading evenly and return back to the freezer.

5. Make the top chocolate layer: Prepare a bain-marie. Combine 3.5 oz chocolate, 0.75 oz butterscotch, 33 g of peanut butter and heat, stirring constantly, until melted and well combined. Pour into the dish, spread evenly and return to the freezer.

6. Leave the Snickers in the freezer for about an hour, until the top chocolate layer is hard to the touch. Carefully life the bar out of the dish using the overhanging wax paper/plastic wrap; place on a cutting board. With a sharp knife, trim the edges to make a neat rectangle, and cut the block into candy-shaped bites/bars. Place on wax paper and return to the freezer to solidify. If you want to coat the edges in chocolate, make another batch of the chocolate (see step 5), and dip the edges of each piece. Place on wax paper and return to the freezer. Store between layers of wax paper in tupperware in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

