Happy December!

Okay, I know it’s been almost four months since I have written anything for my blog, kind of messing up my post-a-week groove, but I’m trying to get back on track. We’ll call it an early New Year’s resolution.

A lot has happened since I last wrote, but I’ll just skip to current events. I flew back home to Minnesota and will be spending the holidays with my family. Since getting time off from about Thanksgiving until New Year’s is nearly impossible, I’m sadly boyfriendless again. Maybe one of these years he can come up with me, or try for a different holiday.

It’s nice to be home since I didn’t make it up last year, but I’ll miss celebrating Christmas in Omaha with his family. Plus, this would have been our first Christmas in the new house. We did celebrate before I left, which consists of watching “Olive the Other Reindeer” and having tacos for dinner. Mike gave me my gift early: a horribly cute Kinectimal edition Build-A-Bear. I’ll definitely write a post on games, and probably a separate one all about my Kinect fun, but basically the bear has a tag you show to the Kinect’s camera and the bear shows up in the game, Kinectimals: Now with Bears! It’s the coolest thing ever.

We managed to decorate the house a bit; nothing too crazy, just some lights around the living room windows, a wreath outside and a cute snowman hanging his mom bought. We put out our Charlie Brown tree, but I think we’ll buy a “real one” next year. Instead, we made a tree out of lights and hung it on the wall. It’s actually pretty darn cute! If only it was cheaper to fly, maybe I could have been able to attend both.

20111218-012200.jpg

Our family Christmas is on the 24, and it’s usually a ton of people, and hours of noisy chaos. I think I’m getting old ’cause I’d much rather hang out at home with the pups and my mom and aunt, and have my gamma over.

I’m looking forward to my mom starting her break so we can hang out and do some fun stuff like bake. We went to the grocery store yesterday and stocked up on various tasty ingredients for various recipes. Spritz and sugar cookies are on the list for sure, but after that….

I think we are also going to make these fabulous orange hazelnut roll things my gamma used to make. I don’t make yeast breads very often, but if they are as tasty as everyone says they are, that might change.

I’d love to make some Hobnobs, too. For those of you who don’t know what a Hobnob is, it’s a British cookie that are kin of like oatmeal cookies, but harder, with chocolate on one side. I absolutely LOVE them. I found three different recipes (out of hundreds) to try that all used Lyle’s Golden Syrup (another primarily British thing).

One of the best things about coming home was having the puppies greet me. I’ve missed them sooooooooo much. Indie and Pippin are pretty confused the first few days I’m home. In fact, I think Indie forgets I’m home altogether until I come upstairs in the morning.

20111218-013003.jpg
They slept on my bed the first night (YAAAAAAAAAY!), but now they roam around between all three of our beds. Pippin woke me up at 3 the other morning, squeaking his big headed puppy toy next to my face, making it clear he was ready to play. And really, who can say no to such a cute, happy to see me back home face? As long as it doesn’t become a regular, everyday thing, I’m more than happy to indulge him!

Leave a Reply

