Minnesota Musings

I’ve been home since mid June to help my mom after her knee surgery and things have been pretty busy (hence why my post a week goal fell off track again). Since so much has happened, I’ll try to hit the highlights.

Mom’s knee: her surgery turned out to be much harder than even the doctor imagined. She spent all the time and then some to fix her right knee (her worst knee). The doctor told my aunt they had to do a lot of cutting and reshaping and ran out of time to try for the other knee. Because of this, her road to recovery has been very long and iffy. Some days she felt like she was making a lot of progress, then other days, especially after therapy, she was back where she started or was even worse.

To add to the bad news, the medications make/made her tummy icky. Fast forward to today-her doctor finally came back and is going to try to see her on Friday to determine if her knee needs to be put under and have her knee manipulated to get rid of scar tissue. The process is very quick (about 10 minutes) and they basically force her knee to bend as much as possible. Earlier, my mom was not looking forward to this, but after some research, it looks like it might help her get more flexibility back. However, this means there’s no way she can get her other knee done in time to get back to school. Something tells me I’ll be back for a bit next year. I just hope her left knee will last until then.

Crazy weather: the past few weeks the weather has been beyond INSANE. We’ve broken some unofficial records this week (goody). The temperatures have been sky high. For instance, today it felt like 110 degrees. Heck, right now at almost 8:30 in the evening, the temp is 91, dewpoint 73, humidity at 56 percent, equaling a heat index of 102.

Add in dew points/humidity in the high 90s and you’ve got weather hot enough to bake cookies in your car. No, seriously, you really can. Next time the temps are like this, I am seriously going to try it. If you’re curious about how it works, check this out: http://bakingbites.com/2007/09/car-baked-chocolate-chip-cookies-step-by-step/.

Harry Potter 7.2: Well, we all knew it had to end sometime….The final movie of the series, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, came out on the 15. Like our recent heatwave, it broke tons of box office records over the weekend. Jill and I decided to splurge and see it in IMAX 3D. I gotta say it was totally worth the money.

Amazingly, I didn’t even cry like I thought I might. I was all ready to say goodbye to all the people who had died in the book, but they sorta glossed over most of them. That being said, the special effects for the epic battle did the finale justice. It was nice to see a movie in 3D that was actually worth it. Creepiest parts that were even creepier thanks to 3D: the dementors floating around, Nagini attacking and the final death scene where bits of that character turn to ash and flitter into the audience.

Favorite part of the whole movie wasn’t even in the movie itself!! When Jill learned the truth about some characters and events, all she could say was “WHOA.” She said it so genuinely and with such awe that I couldn’t help but smile. Kinda made me enjoy the movie even more. My only complaint: the length. The last movie was about two and a half hours while this one was only two hours and five minutes. Seriously, out of all the movies in the set that I’d be willing to sit for an extra half hour or so….While that part of my childhood has come to an official end, I’m glad I have the books (and movies) to help me go back for a visit whenever I like.

ELLE Magazine Honor: I can’t remember if I’ve gushed about my amazing hair stylist, Katie Marie, or not, but if not, let me take this moment to gush about her. If you know about her, you can skip over it.

She used to work nearby our house, but she moved to The Beauty Room down in Minneapolis. It’s kind of a trek, but the salon she works for now is beyond amazing and allows her to keep growing as a stylist. Not to mention I looooove the way she cuts my hair. The only haircut I’ve had in Nebraska was good, but not what I wanted. It makes waiting eons to get a “Katie cut” when I come back to Minnesota even more worth it.

Anyway, last week, she posted on Facebook that the August issue of ELLE had named The Beauty Room as one of the top 100 salons in the U.S.. All the staff there are very talented and I’d feel comfortable seeing any of them, but I’m especially glad Katie is part of it. She loves her job and deserves to work someplace where it can be recognized. The article also listed the top salon for Nebraska so I might have to give them a try.

Other than that, things have been pretty standard around here. I had to change my return home to Nebraska plans again, but I’m hoping this will be the last change. Instead of going home next weekend, it’s been pushed to the end of August. Mike is planning to ride up with Justin; we are all hoping the flooding and whatnot will be done and not cause any other issues, but who knows. I’m bummed I won’t be able to attend my friend Sam’s wedding shower, but if my mom gets her knee cracked, she will need all sorts of help again. Just gotta take it one day, or in some cases one minute, at a time.

Leave a Reply

