Bon Appetit #1: Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been craving cookies for a few days now and today that craving was deliciously met. It was a day of firsts as well. The recipe came from Bon Appetit Desserts, which means I’ve officially started my challenge!!! Woooo, one recipe down (and I think like 149 to go. But don’t trust my math skills)!!!!! And yes, these ARE in the book–*someone* didn’t believe they could be…(for the record, they’re on page 530).

I made the most iconic cookie ever–chocolate chip. But these turned out to be no ordinary cookie. These babies were soft, gooey and did that thing where the chocolate chips make tiny chocolate strands when you break a cookie that’s fresh out of the oven. I have no idea how many I’ll have eaten by the time this is posted (I’m being good so far–only had two!), but I hope it’ll make more than the 3 dozen it lists. I think what made these cookie so darn tasty was the fact they were chilled for a few hours in the fridge (another first!) before you plop them on baking sheets. I will say these cookies aren’t very arthritis friendly, even with a cookie scoop. That dough gets pretty solid after being cooled down. I used a larger spoon to portion out chunks of dough (in between eating some of course).

The dough before going in the fridge. I won't lie, I ate what was stuck to the spoon...

 

The first batch (minus one...had to taste test y'know!). Got to try out my new snazzy potholders for the first time, too. Very, very nice!

With my cookie scoop I got about 3 1/2 dozen. These will definitely be my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe from now on. I can’t wait to try some other recipes out of this book–if these were any indication, I’m in for a very tasty experience!!!

Leave a Reply

