Chipotle & Kinect Night

Last night we went to dinner with our friend Jon (AKA Otter). We had Chipotle, chatted then headed back to his place. I got to hang out with the two horribly, horribly cute puppies. As you can imagine, it was filled with hugs, tummy rubs and kisses. After I had gotten my momentary fill of puppy love, the three of us played X-Men. Since it was the classic arcade version, it was your basic, awesome beat ’em up format. It did get me a lot of achievements, too–woo for a better gamer score!

Then, it was time for the real fun–trying out the Kinect. Let me start off by saying by some miracle, we both came home and woke up injury-free!!! Anyway, we’ve always wanted to try one at Best Buy, but it’s usually flooded with small children. Soooo glad we waited though. That thing is crazy and amazing…You can actually have it recognize your face and log you in that way. You had to do some sorta silly things for it to “find” and “identify” you, though.

The screen instructing Mike to stand in that position

 

Mike copying another instruction

 

Almost done!

After it’s recorded you, next time we log in and play, all we’ll have to do is wave at the Kinect and it’ll pull up our profiles!!

We tried out a variety of games, but my favorite was the Kinect Adventures. Since we were playing, I wasn’t able to take any pictures of us, but the Kinect sometimes takes pictures for you. They look sooo funny too, especially if you’re doing certain actions. One of the best shots was of me jumping. I’ll have to see if I can take a pic of it next time we’re over there. Some of those games are quite a workout, too! I’m pretty sure we shouldn’t have been that winded after some of those games…

I started to try the dancing game, Dance Central, but I kind of got nervous and gave up. Mike however…no fear whatsoever. He totally wiped the floor with me and I have the videos to prove it. However, I won’t post them for his sake. He did both Lady Gaga songs on there, “Poker Face” and “Just Dance.” “Poker Face” was easier than “Just Dance,” but he did very well on both of them.

Mike rocking out to Lady Gaga's "Just Dance" in Dance Central

He also tried “Sonic Free Riders,” a racing type game. It looked like a lot of fun, but it looked like the turning was really difficult to figure out.

We did notice something though–Kinect is built for right-handed people. All the dance moves use your right arm and leg first. It’s sorta confusing for those of us who are lefties, but I think it’s something you adapt to fairly quickly. We had a ton of fun last night and I’m sure once we find a used one cheap at Gamers, we too will own a Kinect. I’m hoping to try out “Your Shape: Fitness Evolved” game demo sometime, too. I think it’d be a nice way to get some exercise without having to go outside in the winter. Plus it’s more like a game, not like a typical workout. It’ll be interesting to see what other games they come out with for the Kinect in the coming year!!!

Leave a Reply

